would you stay clear of a discovery with high mileage

Martin g

Have seen forsale a 2002 Land Rover Discovery TD5 S with 126,000 miles on clock for 6k.. At present I have a 2004 Free Lander S 1.8 petrol with nearly 50k on clock which is used for both family car and shooting.. Would I be me mad to consider changing for for something with so much mileage when I do about 12k a year.. Was the price that caught my eye which would be probably be within my budget if I was to change.. :w00t:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie...em=270571919621

TBH milage doesnt mean a thing and befor anyone jumps on me in this months mechanics mag there is a bmw that has done 1,000,000 miles and all thats it has had done is serviced at the correct intervals. Thats not huge miles for a td5 im a mechanic and run one atm with 180,000 on and it runs really well. If it has service history go for it there are bargins around if you look hard enough I paid £1500 for mine. They are good for shooting but if your after a run about that goes off road every so often Freelander all the way.

Oil in the injector harness causes the td5 to appear to be missing give it a good blast in the top of the rev range.

Fuel pressure regulator diesel smelling coming from the back of the engine bellhousing area.

Dont know if the S model has rear air suspenion but if it has prone to leaks shows up in cold wether more.

PM me if you want to know more .

Kind regards OTH