shotgun licence? which gun? 410 or 12?

syborg

please forgive me if this has been asked a thousand times but ive had a flick through recent posts and cant find much about it..

basicaly im thinking about getting a shotgun...

a good friend of mine owns a gun and has a total of 20 acres of farm land and often goes for woodys, rabbits and clays...

so hes got me thinking about getting a starter shotty so i can shoot with him...

now heres the tricky bit...

what kind of offences are the old bill looking for when considering you for a licence?

i have no violent criminal record whatsoever....i promise,lol

just a couple of cautions and a couple of old speeding tickets from about 7 yrs ago..

i have never been convicted of anything and am just wondering how deep they go..

i was treated for anxiety a few years ago but ive not had to visit my gp about it in nearly 3 yrs...will this make a difference?

ive been using air rifles for well over 10 yrs with no problems or trouble..

also im not a very egotistical person so was thinking to start maybe a small 410 gun or a 20 gauge....

im not a typical "my guns bigger than yours" kinda person so size isnt an issue...im thinking more sensably...

any game i will go for will be wood pigeons, rabbits and maybe vermin depending on whats about...also i will join a local clay club...

i enquired at my local police station but apparently i need to ring the main station in bury st edmunds to speak to the firearm licensing officer to get an application form sent and was wondering if any issues i have mentioned will affect my efforts..

any help would be much appreciated..

many thanks

syborg..

Be totally honest about ALL previous run ins with the law and ANY medical history.

The one thing that will guarantee a knock back is trying to omit things from the application form. They DO check and will catch you out.

Oh, and get a 12g :hmm: cheapest way of covering all eventualities.