Lee Auto-Prime

Ive been reloading one thing or another for 35+ years now and have used a Lee Auto-Prime for most of them. I still do because I find it easy and quick and except for two occasions totally safe. I have had two primers explode but out of the hundred of thousands loaded thats not bad and neither ball of flame did more than singe my hair.

I have read widely on shooting and reloading yet until today did not realise that Federal primers MUST NOT be used in a Lee Auto-Prime. I had heard from somewhere that Winchester Large rifle were temperamental in the Auto-Prime and max at any one time should be about 10 rather than filling the tray with 100 but I had not read the disturbing detail provided by Lee themselves about how and how not to use this most satisfactory tool.

In respect of Federal primers Lee say in capital letters DO NOT USE FEDERAL PRIMERS IN A LEE AUTO-PRIME and go on to say that they are just 'too darn dangerous'.

if I have missed this information and have been using my tool with Federal and others perhaps you have as well - hence this post.

Lee say that these sizes may be used with 100 primers in the tray

All sizes of CCI

Winchester Small Pistol

Remington Small Pistol #5 /2

Remington Large Pistol # 2 1/2

Limit to Only 20 Primers in the Tray of these types

Winchester Large Pistol

Winchester Magnum Pistol

Winchester Magnum Rifle

Only 10 primers should be loaded into the tray of

Winchester Large Rifle

Any primer not listed above has not been tested so you must assume they are unsafe.

Whereas a tray of above primers exploding will blow the lid off the 'Other' primers

detonate with such force that it turns the tool into shrapnel. Federal being the most dangerous.