Beach fishing around Sidmouth

Dougy

15lb main and a good shock leader to allow you to fully compress the rod without losing the terminal tackle. 15lb main is sufficient as long as your drag is set right on your reel and you play the fish.

Exactly - just remember if you are using a fixed spool you need your drag locked down to cast otherwise it will slip. Multi no problem as drag disengaged for casting

Thanks chaps.its actually braid so should cast ok,i must up my leader though,its my first time beach casting so I am approaching it with expected fluff ups lol.. Looking forwaard to it. Oh! The reel will be either a shimano 4000 or simalar bait runner,any good ???

I love Sidmouth! Been going to the Victoria since I was 14 years old.

Can't help you on the fishing but can direct you to the best pint of cider and crab sandwich.

Havnt drank cider since school days, was really bad and never touched it since, crab butties sound nice though,

01395 274918 Exmouth fishing tackle shop

they are in the strand Exmouth.....

jacobs ladder is a popular spot with the locals , rag worm, is a good all round bait also try a lure for bass, + sand eels are very productive,

Ladram bay can produce some nice evening fishing, stunning location and cheap parking.. budleigh can produce some nice evening fishing as can Branscombe

when are you heading down ?

Thanks chaps.its actually braid so should cast ok,i must up my leader though,its my first time beach casting so I am approaching it with expected fluff ups lol.. Looking forwaard to it. Oh! The reel will be either a shimano 4000 or simalar bait runner,any good ???

Shimano 4000 baitrunner ? I'd say that would be to small for beachcasting (better suited for spinning), just out of interest what sort of rod are you going to use ?

I asume your going to use a mono leader attached to your braid ?

Edited by lumpy