looking for a .22 l.r. subsonic but "devastating" bullet

HI,

I have a special problem.

We are not allowed to use silencers but "have to" shoot some rabbits in a camping area. Because it is close to a recreation area I would avoid normal or high speed cartridges. On the one hand because of the noise and on the other hand because of the higher energy. Rabbits are always in between 20 to max. 50 m.

I first tried .22 lr subsonic by RWS / RUAG. Problem was that most of the bullet didn't open (think it was to slow to open up) and the rabbits were off.

Do you know a subsonic cartridge with a fragile bullet ?

Would be great ! :)

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

By "open up" I assume you mean expand?-Never heard of this being a problem-I've been using subs for many years and any rabbit that is hit fair and square stays down-if you are hitting them in the right place then they should be dead. Even if the bullet is abnormally slow then the round would stop in the rabbit and the shock should be lethal?

Winchester subs out to 100 yds pop the eyes out of rabbits if hit in the back of the head which is usually fairly lethal! But they always drop them on the spot if shot anywhere but the guts. If the hit sounds like a squishy thud and they run off your hitting them in the wrong plqce

HI,

I have a special problem.

We are not allowed to use silencers but "have to" shoot some rabbits in a camping area. Because it is close to a recreation area I would avoid normal or high speed cartridges. On the one hand because of the noise and on the other hand because of the higher energy. Rabbits are always in between 20 to max. 50 m.

I first tried .22 lr subsonic by RWS / RUAG. Problem was that most of the bullet didn't open (think it was to slow to open up) and the rabbits were off.

Do you know a subsonic cartridge with a fragile bullet ?

Would be great ! :)