starting out

Bryn12

OK I'm not a complete newbie to shooting or clays but am coming back to shotguns after a couple of decades and have decided that I'd like to concentrate on clays, no idea what discipline yet as I'd like to try as wide a range as possible and see what floats my boat.

I'm about to start looking at an suitable gun to get me started so here's how I'm thinking

OU, 12g, 28", multichoke, fitted and/or adjustable comb

my idea for the shorter barrel and multichokes is to give me the best chance of hitting things to start with then gradually fitting tighter chokes as I improve and gain confidence. My current strength (maybe the wrong word) is driven, my weakness seams to be DTL

1. Is my thinking completely wrong

2. would it be possible/adviseable to fit say 30" or even 32" barrels in the future if that's the direction I progress in

3. if the above thinking is sound (possibly unlikely) what are my options with a budget of @£1500 to start off with

Not doing much just now as I'd like to start in earnest with a gun that suits/fits me

thanks

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I would say go for a 30" multi, (don't keep messing about with the chokes)

If you're a competent shot then spend £1200 on a gun and the rest getting it fitted

If you're not still spend the £1200 and bang away for a few months until you can mount it consistantly THEN get it fitted

Browning/Beretta/Miroku all will shoot/fit slightly different, try as many as you can

:shaun:

I too have just returned to Clay shooting after 25 years - I decide to get a new Clay gun & after looking at loads I settled for a new Browning GP trap 32" Multi Choke - it mounts superb & I can see plenty of rib. So far all seems in order - I've also had a couple of sessions roost shooting with it that went really well.

Choose wisely, try as many as you can & remember a quality gun will sell well should you ever decide to change/upgrade.

Good luck !!