rabbits help

timmyra608

Right chaps I am very new to the Pcp air rifle and I need some advice. I have owned other rifles to shoot rabbits/pigeons etc but that has been more of if I see one shoot it, but my question or advice is do you hold position and wait for them come to you? I have only had a day with the new gun but I have been shooting so well with it I believe I can make a clean kill (2p sized target and no misses). I know the rabbit runs and where is a good shot but do I let 3 or 4 come out or do I shoot the first I see? These questions may seem stupid but with my old air rifle if I shot one rabbit the noise it made scared off all the other rabbits is this the same with pcp? I awaite your mocking!!!

You can shoot more than one a go with far louder guns! the only thing I should say is stay in position till you plan to leave the spot you are in, walking round dropping scent all over will keep them away far longer than a dead matey will. Just shoot whatever presents a shot- if that's one on its own or a couple together take what presents a shot and don't fret it

I'm in two minds about leaving the dead ones be and waiting for others to emerge and ignoring them now.. The first time I shoot a warren you can definitely leave shot ones put and maybe shoot a few more when they pop out. The next time I shoot there, they are definitely very wary of dead mates laying about and very often quickly about turn and bolt back down the same hole, that first kill being the only one I end up with from there. I shot my 100th rabbit last night and the best way to go home with more than two rabbits IMO is to collect the shot one and move to another spot for another go or go and sit down again and wait for another to come out. I now really believe that the scent/sound of your carefully placed footsteps is less likely to put off further opportunities coming out than them seeing dead kin.