advice and tips for a small permission

supermotolew

Hi all ! just a quick post from a newbie I have recently been asked to shoot a small piece of land to control the rabbit population and protect the land. noise could be an issue as I will be shooting weekdays after work.

I have at my disposal a 12G with normal and subsonic carts , and an air rifle although I would not like to use this its 30 odd years old hw35 and probably underpowered.

should I buy a 410 Hushpower just for this permission?

I am new to shooting rabbits when should I be looking to shoot times and periods of the year ?

do I need any other kit ?

im presuming with rabbit I can walk through the area shoot 1 or 2 and return later once the spooked gain more confidence ?

should I be lamping or will daylight hours suffice?

what is the done thing to dispose of excess dead rabbits after a shoot ?

any help guidance tips would be much appreciated as Im hoping this small permission could lead to larger ones.

I like you shoot rabbits on a small permission which has cattle on. I only use sub 12 air rifle due to noise and size of land. I shoot in the evening, go for a walk at first then towards dusk sit up behind a warren and wait for them to come out. as for the dead ones I eat them or if no good ie to small this time of year then double bagged and binned.

You'll be surprised at just how quickly rabbits (or any other type of prey) can learn that you're around.

A few years ago, I and a friend were asked to reduce the rabbit population on a smallholding up in the hills. He was up there a fair bit more than me initially, and after a few weeks told me that there were virtually no rabbits left.

A couple of days later, the landowner calls me up, and asks if we're carrying on or leaving it. I drive over there, and there are dozens on bunnies around. I knock off a couple of dozen within an hour or 2.