Have I got everything?

jamez79

Hi,

I'm a novice and would like advice on what other "essential" kit I need for my first outing...

I've got a dozen pigeon decoys and a crow, poles, netting, whirler and battery and decoys, working on a seat. Gun, cartridges, trusty springer spaniel, flask and lunch for me and my pooch, got clothing and hat, bag to carry kit and pigeons (if I get any), knife. Bag for empty cartridges.

Anything else that's glaringly obvious that I've missed? Would rather take too much and leave it in the pick up than realise I'm missing something essential and spoil my first day.

Oh, and deep heat for my poor old back after lugging it around the field! :-)

Maybe something to set up dead birds as decoys wooden barbecue skewers are good or you could cut some from the hedges.

Cradles are good for taller crops or you could use bamboo canes like this picture. Other than that you should be ok. if it's likely to be warm take plenty of fresh water for the dog.

good luck

post-57269-0-41583500-1403443823_thumb.jpg

Edited by aga man

Good idea! Thanks for that. I've got some barbeque skewers in the cupboard I'll pack them now.

Will definitely take lots of water for the dog.

I've been looking for a seat. I've got a cheap fold up jobby but its a bit low. I'd like the barrel with the swivel seat on top but it probably won't arrive in time.

I've got to the stage now where I don't worry too much about the fly eggs. Most of the pigeons I shoot go into the freezer as soon as possible, so there isn't any chance of the eggs hatching. If I'm selling them fresh, I'll give them a good check before they go in.