How many rounds shot in a day?

nicknsd1978

I'm completely new to the world of clay pigeon shooting.....in fact I have only been on a taster day. I have though since booked my first lesson for in a couple of weeks. This is something I want to start doing on a weekend but wondered how many clays are normally shot? Around by me in nottingham the prices range from 5.50 to 6.50 a round (25 clays).....how many rounds are seen as a normal mornings shooting?

It doesn't really matter what amount others are shooting but Whatever you feel comfortable with and may be best to do a few more lessons first , a lot of the shoots close to me are 50 or 60 bird shoots

I shot 2 different shoots this morning with 2 x 60 bird cards on each so choose what suits you

Welcome to pw :)

Edited by fruity

I thought 100 would be about right....do people generally go every weekend or say every other weekend?

if you get the bug it'll be more than that !

in fine weather we try to go at least once a week, work permitting.

we usually do 500 plus easy in a few hours ( 2 of us )

but if you get a target that your not happy with you'll need to sort it for your piece of mind ( I did 22 carts today on skeet stand 3, high house )

When I was shooting completions I would shoot 20,000 a year at clays. That would be two or three times a week ,, including a competion. I wouldn't shoot more than 150 practise as I lost concentration and was merely calling pull and pulling the trigger.

Edited by pontbeck

As a beginner don't try more than 50 at a time for the first few goes, you'll get tired and recoil effected this can lead to problemns down the line which are much harder to correct (flinching, lifting, freezing etc) better to shoot 50 a week every week than 200 once a month. if you are shooting sporting have a few lessons before going for practise/comps most aRE 60-100 if shooting skeet or trap most are 50/100 (rounds are 25 clays each) so 2-4 rounds.