Stupid birds

So my brids have decided that the best defence at night is roosting in the open ground rather than the cover at either end of the pen and if a fox comes near fly out to be eaten (lost one last night). Its only a small pen 25x25M with 150 birds its has cover at both ends and an open space in the middle. We have green netting over the fence on 2 sides to stop the birds spooking (dont have any left to do the other sides).

Any suggestions to stop this happing, I'm worried that every night a fox will have a sniff around and spook out birds. I'm working on fox control but its a hard bit of land to lamp and Im not experienced with snares.

Paul do you mean a extra electric fence out form the main one at the moment I have 2 strands at the bottom of the fence and one at the top. Fences are all off the mains so easy to add more they give a good kick as well. I lost 2 last night in the pen looked like they just hit the fence and broke their necks. I'm in Ireland

Yeah just a single strand out, about 12 inch from the floor, run it directly out from the corner, may be even run a strand out half way between corners, again at 90 deg to the pen fence and put a bit of a dog leg bend in it, I'd use the screw in insulators to a short post, the elecy fence can be wrapped around this type of insulator which will stop the wire jumping off and shorting to ground if/when a fox smashes into it, we don't want to jeopardise the integrity of the main fence!

Once your fox has learnt anywhere within 3 or so meters of the pen can result in a shock he won't be so keen to run the pen fence.

Early morning (5:15am) with the rifle and watch from a distance if you can.

How about trying a radio to keep foxes away? Our pen has a cheap pocket radio which I put inside a short piece of drainpipe to keep the rain off. Cost me about £3 and cheap batteries last a week.

Not really sure if it works but at less than the price of 1 poult to me it seams worth a go.