Ist Gun for Clay shooting

AOK

Hi

I am new to Clay shooting and have so far shot a Beretta Semi auto and a Browning 757 o/u.I am looking to buy my 1st gun and am leaning towards a 28" semi auto (mainly because it feels more comfortable and I shoot better with it).I am considering a Beretta a400 (xcel or explor) or a Benelli Raffaello crio.I believe the Benelli is simple to clean and break down but may have more recoil. Any advice ,suggestions or recommendations would be appreciated.Tnks :)

I would recommend an over and under as your first gun.

Semi's at good guns but not really for a first clay gun. You will find it more socially acceptable with an o/u. As you can control the empty cartridges. And you won't feel out of place at certain events. They are probably a better gun to learn with. A miroku mk38, Browning 525 or berreta 682 or silver pigeon would be best, depending on fit.

Don't get me wrong I love my semi and enjoy shooting it, but if you get more into the clays you will probably wish you began with an o/u and end up buying one.

If your heart is set on the semi. Then go for it.

Just my 2p's worth

Excellent advice above. As I run a clay shooting ground semi autos are a constant worry to me. I can see if an o/u or sxs is open from the other side of the ground - but you are never quite so sure about a s/auto!!!!

There is more to go wrong and often choosey about cartridges.

If you have a problem with recoil then consider one - if not then go o/u is my advice. If you do get a s/a then get a flag or a plastic breach block - people around you will be much more comfortable.

John

Try more than 2 guns before deciding which suits you. Ideally have some lessons with someone who understands gunfit and try plenty of different guns, ALsoi suggest buying used rather than new you will get a better gun for your budget and loose less when you sell.

I concur with above re semi's