Pigeon biltong

FalconFN

As I've got a mountain of pigeon on the freezer I thought is give pigeon biltong a try. I usually do rump steak with plenty of marbling so I'm not sure how well such a lean meat will work, but it looks pretty good so far and the small bit I've tried tasted great. Still got a day or two above the woodburner but if it works I will be in snacks for months.

The cure is a simple salt, pepper, chilli and corriander seed rub.

post-20802-0-94035000-1413388923_thumb.jpg

You can make biltong out of pretty much anything - I've been making it for 25 years. In South Africa you can get chicken biltong, but I'm not comfortable with eating uncooked chicken. As long as you would be happy eating the meat medium rare - I would think it is ok to make biltong from it.

A Nigerian colleague once gave me some air dried guinea fowl - it was very tasty. You could probably do pheasant too - a bit less work in the butchery due to its size.

You can make biltong out of pretty much anything - I've been making it for 25 years. In South Africa you can get chicken biltong, but I'm not comfortable with eating uncooked chicken. As long as you would be happy eating the meat medium rare - I would think it is ok to make biltong from it.

A Nigerian colleague once gave me some air dried guinea fowl - it was very tasty. You could probably do pheasant too - a bit less work in the butchery due to its size.

Not sure I'd each chicken biltong either - or rabbit for that matter.

As it's so lean I won't over dry it, I want it hard on the outside but with a little give in the middle, so I'm working on the assumption that it will be totally fine, but proprobably won't keep quite as well as beef.

I've been thinking about doing the same - Can you give us a rundown of exactly how you make it?