Small wild duck pond

post-18375-0-05789000-1416693335_thumb.jpg

Hi to all this is my duck pond I am the only person who has permission to shoot it. Now just in the next field literally 20 yards away is another pond man made by the neighbour who has tapped into my pond some how according to my farmer. Now what I am looking for is to improve my pond for next season as I love nothing more than getting my kids involved in nature and conservation. Now I will be honest I really don't no where to start to improve things as naturally as possible. There are plenty of ducks about and I have almost got a free rein to improve things. My farmer wants the ducks controlled a little bit as well. As reading between the lines he is annoyed with the neighbour.

But I am not looking to cause waves but I have been shooting here for 5 years and I love it

Are the sides steep or gently sloping? Generally ducks (well dabbling ducks) need shallow marigns to feed, ie less than welly deep

If ur wanting it to flight i would be tempted to cut the whole tree down depending on which side of the pond it is on compared to normal wind direction (not sure which tree either the ash?willow to left or the beech/oak tothe right), duck will almost always flight/land into the wind so if u have a clear line of sight makes it a lot easier

Wot's the green stuff? Algae or pond weed? If its algae a put a barley (sure its barley but been a while since i've needed to do it) straw bale in at the inlet at spring time or a few round sides tends to stop algae

I'm sure if u went on the BASC or GWCT site there might be more info but all depends wot u actually want just a flkight pond chuck some feed in, but if u want a bit more of a nature pond too might repuire more work, possibly digger work, planting margins. From the photo it looks like it might be quite stagnant (but hard to tell from 1 photo)? usually better if u can get some flow throu it but mibee not possible?