Not sure what to do now

michufc

Hi to all I have had the go ahead for making a sort of min shoot for me and my friend and also for my family to learn about nature and animals. I have been shooting up there for over 5 years now and been a pritty good job for the pest control. So I have started to put feeders out and started to make plans for the duck pond well today I went up to check the feeders with my spaniel and I could see a vehicle half way up next to the woods. As I started to walk up there it started coming down the hill and the man stopped next to me and the vehicle had 4 people in. Now the man introduced himself to me and said he had permission to shoot and the others said nothing at all a bit frosty I would say so I wished him the best and he went on his way. So I went to talk to the farmer and he said yes he has permission he doesn't no the others in the vehicle he gave him permission around 9 years ago and he hardly ever comes up but mainly goes after foxes. Now my issue is i don't want to invest my money and time into it for others to benifit who haven't put any effort into it. Especially as I got such a frosty reception I am confused on what to do for the best as I love it up there

I find it really odd as I have never seen him before in 5 years and I mentioned I was starting to put feeders out and he didn't seem bothered at all he said he had seen them but I was hoping for a bit more of a response from him stating what sort of things he was after ie foxes or maybe he was interested and wanted to help but knowing my luck he will be up there after I get it established with a load of mates reaping the reward so to speak so confused

You'd be gutted if this team turned up out of the blue and started hammering your pond and game. If he hardly ever comes up, ask the farmer to swap his perm to foxes only or give him his marching orders - that is, assuming the farmer is happy with everything you're doing. Either that or walk away.