Multi shot air pistol?

Steve72

Hi, My father-in-law, has declared war on the mice in his aviaries. He is using a crossman air rifle. He has mentioned to me that it would be easier if he had a multi shot pistol because he is in confined space. With Xmas approaching I would like to treat him.

What would you guys recomend entry level and budget. Last question would a BB at a range of six feet be adequate or am I best with pellets.

Apologies if suggesting bb's is unsuitable but I have no experience with pistols. Cheers

HAs he got an FAC?

9mm shot pistol (rimfire would be better)

https://www.cityoflondon.police.uk/advice-and-support/licensing-and-permits/firearms-licensing/Pages/Exceptions.aspx

Shot Pistols

People who need shot pistols in .410 or 9mm rim-fire for shooting rats and other vermin in confined spaces can buy, possess and sell them if they have a police firearm certificate which allows them to do so. The certificate must specify that the shot pistol is only to be used for shooting vermin.

There aren't really any suitable multi-shot pistols for ratting as most that are multi-shot will push about 2ft lbs which just isn't enough. Webley Alecto will push 5.5ftlbs on 3 pumps but single shot, plus you wont have any recoil as with the HW 45 which will also push about 5.5 ftlbs but is a springer. Also if he gets a later model Alecto he can screw on a moderator with a 1/2 inch unf adapter so he isn't bothering the neighbors or the birds.

Downside is the cost of the Alecto so one of the cheaper Crosmans may be more suitable. A Rat Catcher might be suitable as well as its small, light and cheap but again single shot

Don't shoot me down too quickly but at 6 feet I would think any co2 knocking out 2ftlbs would do nicely on mice, like the Beretta or whatever. You only need 4 to knock off a rabbit so why won't 2 kill a mouse humanly.

If all the 50+ yard head shot all day .177 guys are to be believed then 2 ft lbs are practically over powered in comparrison.