DIY auto feeders

I had a local television repair man knock me one up years ago, worked a treat till the other blokes looking after it started messing with the timer, and did not know what they were doing, ............ it up in a fortnight,,,,, never bothered with having any more made, yes they work great if left alone. it had whistle on too, you should have seen them running to the timer. magic..

Unless they are for ducks spreading feed in shallow water then I would use simple barrel feeders with side slots. I have been using springs for about 15 years but have had enough of losses, even pigeons are working them, plus rats, squirrels etc and badgers and deer despite being fitted with spikes are bending them.

Got 4 barrels in one drive, 2 springs, 2 slots. One of the spring feeders have been emptied by badgers bending the spring. Overall the spring feeders use 3 times the wheat volumes of the slot ones.

A

U can buy them for 50ish quid and just bolt them onto the bottom of a barrel.

I have tried to adapt bought ones to put whistles on and got a bit more complicated.

I have thought about feeding our ponds this way but wot puts me off is if it either blocks/breaks or runs out of batteries ur duck will not be getting feed. I just chuck plenty in the shallows then a i know they are gettin fed

Edited by scotslad

Its too far to visit our shoot daily mate & with the pond being just off a river any excess feed gets eaten quickly thats why we're looking to make autofeeders. We've been working on one at work last night & just need to order a timer. Will quiz the electrical engineer at work about best way to do it. Will post a thread up once its working properly

Well throw enough in for 1 or even 2 weeks. Might not be ideal but does work.

Have seen me in the past putting 1/4 to 1/2 a tonn in at a time. That shoot had quite a few ponds along a river valley and shot well for it.