Is 8.73 pounds to heavy?

nicknsd1978

I weighed my gun the other day after been concerned about its weight. With the luggage scales it weighs 8.73 pounds....I'm about 5'10 medium build. I can't help thinking that it's too heavy....I'm still new to all this but when im on the stand I don't seem to be able to manoeuvre it as well as some of their other people you see. It's mainly just skeet that I'm doing at the mo

If you're concerned it's too heavy then it may be worth doing something... but weight can also be your friend if handled correctly. Consider a session with a good coach because the advice on how to handle your gun may be far more effective and less costly than chopping and changing the hardware.

Ive shot with a well balanced 9lb gun and 7.5 lb ones that made pigs on barn shovels preferable

Seek the services of the professionals ...

The general rule is lighter for clays especially skeet and heavier for game guns, 30 inch barrels in my opinion is too long especially for skeet, I used to shoot 26" inch on skeet when I started but now use 28", if your out on a big shoot with lots of high pheasant 30 inch with tight chokes is much better, its always best to get expert opinion before buying your gun as its the single most expensive outlay and the last thing you want to get wrong when starting out. :yes::yes:

The general rule is lighter for clays especially skeet and heavier for game guns, 30 inch barrels in my opinion is too long especially for skeet, I used to shoot 26" inch on skeet when I started but now use 28", if your out on a big shoot with lots of high pheasant 30 inch with tight chokes is much better, its always best to get expert opinion before buying your gun as its the single most expensive outlay and the last thing you want to get wrong when starting out. :yes::yes:

I'm afraid you have this the wrong way round,