Advice from the PW Masters

jeffjjack

Complete novice to the pigeon shooting world, had limited days out throwing the decoys out and hoping for the best but below you will see a new permission that I have gained... the question is how would you go about shooting it?

Its on rape and they are predominantly feeding near the cross roads (clever little blighters). The flight line seems good with a good trickle of birds hitting the field from dinner onward.

My first thoughts were to set up at the top of the hill at the corner of the beet pad (surrounded by bails) but will they decoy up the hill? or setting up in the corner where they are feeding (in the middle of the field 50m from each road obvously) and shoot up the hill into the field?

Field1.bmp.jpg?psid=1

Any advice apreciated, Thanks

Jeff

Where about's are you based.

BASC have a number pigeon shooting courses on at the moment.

These courses are well worth attending

drop me a pm if you require any help

Thanks bakerboy,

I'm based in north Lincolnshire... the area that has a distinct lack of pigeons lol. There's only so much reading about it you can do before you need to do more doing. This new permission has given me a opportunity to get "doing" but (to me) it's not straight forward

http://1drv.ms/1Ewc7re

hopefully the link above should work

pigeons happily land on slopey parts no worries...the 50 yard rule is actually 50 feet..you can still shoot as long as not disturbing/disrupting users of the roads(see other posts @ shooting near roads).......but as you should avoid shot hitting the roads and dropping pigeons on cars I would set up at bottom of your field with back to minor road and shoot 'uphill' as it were......remember pigeons will look to land into wind so assuming wind direction as you show when shooting then you should be able to pull them in front of you and take safe shots into the hill/across field away from roads etc..