got permission on a golf course and looking for advise

samcul

i have just got permission on a golf course very near to my house. they don't have any major pest problems but just like to keep on top of the rabbits, crows and pigeons. i have some very basic experience on lamping but would appreciate any other advice on how to get some rabbits. my back ground is decoying pigeons with shot guns so air rifles are a bit new to me. i have a .22 and a nitesite. i was down there the other night and saw a few rabbits, a fox, fair amount of crows and loads of peasants (not allowed to shoot). so any advice on how to make the most of this permission would be appreciated, thanks in advance

The thing is, you can't really shoot the pigeons under the general licence on a golf course. The course could gen up a letter stating that they want to encourage songbirds, etc in the wilder areas, and the corvid numbers need reducing to accomplish this (so you'd be able to shoot the corvids in that case), but I don't see how you could shoot pigeons legally.

Rabbits, if they're a problem then just fill your boots. The foxes will be helping you out in this too.

And I think you mean pheasants ... it depends how posh the golf course is !

i have just got permission on a golf course very near to my house. they don't have any major pest problems but just like to keep on top of the rabbits, crows and pigeons. i have some very basic experience on lamping but would appreciate any other advice on how to get some rabbits. my back ground is decoying pigeons with shot guns so air rifles are a bit new to me. i have a .22 and a nitesite. i was down there the other night and saw a few rabbits, a fox, fair amount of crows and loads of peasants (not allowed to shoot). so any advice on how to make the most of this permission would be appreciated, thanks in advance