young new pigeon shooters (the struggle)

jimmyjoebilly

HI all i have been shooting clays on and off for about 3 years now and recently have left the forces i am 20 years of age and have been looking for some pigeon shooting for about a good year have all of the decoys cam nets and hide gear but cant really find any ground to shoot on when i say find i live in worcestershire so there is quite a few farms around but i would feel rude to pull my car up onto the drive and ask the farmer if they needed any shooting doing this is due to being at the clay grounds and getting the vibe of being not trusted in a way because we are a bit younger than the majority of older blokes (not being rude) what would be the best way of gaining permission by knocking the door and what would i need to hand ie. insurance, SGC and would it be worth mentioning that i am ex forces so my weapon safety has been well practised

cheers jimmy :)

Gaining permission is indeed one of the hardest things to do. The best advise I could give you would be to have some cards made up ready for when you go door knocking. Do a lot of research, by this I meen go watch the fields and when you see them being attacked, go knock on the farmers door offering to help them control the pests feeding on their crop. If they don't want anyone at that time offer to leave them your calling card and always go smartly dressed, never in camo.

Be prepared for a lot of knock backs as you will get them. Remember, he who dares wins, best of luck fella

Go and knock on doors. It may be better to do it when you see either corvids or pigeons feeding heavily on a field. Don't wear cammo and don't take your gun as that could be seen as too presumptive. Be polite if the answer is 'No' then thank the farmer for his time and hand him a card with your number on it if you have had some made up. He may call you another time.