New to shooting advice - Dundee

gazere

Hey there, my name is Duncan and I am a 19 year old student in Dundee. My grandfather recently died and left me some shotguns, and so i decided with my dad to try shooting. I have now recently recieved my shotgun licence and have a SxS purdey 12ga, which was my great great grandfathers, and a SxS 12ga "horton" which i dont know much about. There is also a very old .410 single barrel which someone has told me may have been a poachers gun as it is unmarked. I would very much like to get involved with the sport, and have shot locally at auchterhouse a couple of times. Unfortunately I cant seem to find a local club, and so I was wondering if there were some more experienced shooters who could show me the ropes and help answer all the questions I have? Hopefully there are people about my area :).

I posted the same thing to clay shooting forums but there was nobody in my area, someone suggested I post here as well.

http://www.shootclayforum.com/index.php?/topic/16926-new-to-shooting-advice-dundee/

For pics of the guns, thanks all.

Hi Duncan,

Auchterhouse is a great place to start to learn your craft, they cover pretty much every discipline in clay shooting there and is as good a ground as you will find in Scotland. The best thing to do is to give Emma Christie at Auchterhouse a call or pop in and let them know that you want to learn. They can introduce you to lots of people that shoot there and I am quite sure that you will find a couple of people who would be happy to show you the ropes. Drew Christie, who won silver at the Commonwealth games in Olympic Skeet, also does a bit of free coaching now and again in all disciplines to help get people into the game.

You will see in this that there is a Scottish members fun day on the 9th August at Cluny Clays just outside Kirkcaldy and you would be very welcome to go along to that too. Barry (Tignme) and Ewan have been the guys behind arranging that.