Voice Control Clarification

DoctorG

Can someone explain the principles behind the voice activated control devices used in sporting clay?

- I could wait till my next taster session (I'm very new to this) but thought I'd ask here rather than waiting...and rather than looking like a complete berk :)

So, you plug in the device, with several buttons.

I presume that you press one button for a single clay when you call, another for two, another for two on report and another for two simultaneously?

Well, there are multiple traps at each station and I'm wondering, if I send a clay in order to see its flight path, does that count as 1 of my 50 clays that I've asked/paid for?

If I shoot five stations and call for two birds at each just to see where they are coming from, that's ten clays I haven't shot at, leaving me 40 to shoot.

Or...bear with me...is this factored in as a recognised 'loss' by the gun club?

If so, I could theoretically use up loads of clays that I'm not shooting at.

Ooooooor.....I said I was new......does the control unit simply record how many clays you call and then you pay for whatever that number is back at the club house?

There you go, my first, and probably to most people 'daftest' post.

Thanks in anticipation,

G

Hi G,

I'm afraid there is not a simple answer to your question.

I have never used an audio release trap controller before, but have used plenty of normal button push ones.

Depending on the setup the controllers can be dead simple and have 1 button, but most will have 3 to control two traps. So you can fire each trap on its own or a simultaneous pair.

If you have a more complex controller that controls multiple traps then you normally have the choice to push buttons in the appropriate sequence to give you the firing order that you want. If the controller has an audio switch then it could do an 'on report' pair as well as a simo pair. With the on report function the controller fires the trap on the bang of the gun.