How to get a FAC?

AlMai

Hi all,

Im new to the world of shooting, having been down to a range in Cardiff for some target shooting and a hand full of clay shooting days, and now feel like it would be wise to invest in my own rifle +/ shotgun. I am at the point where I have looked at the law in detail, found a local range that I could become a member of, found what I could comfortably afford to buy and shoot, inc safes etc, have even found a few other uni students that are interested and actively shoot, and so are in the process of forming a shooting and conservation society (we have a meeting a welsh BASC rep in Jan 2016 which sounds good). Id ideally like to get to a point where I am a competent enough shooter to go stalking with a club . I am really looking now for info on what I should be doing when applying for my license, ie what should I be writing in terms of my reasons for a license? do I need to put the address and other details of the land that I intend to ( ad obviously have permission to) shoot on? do I need to have already been on a stalk prior to getting a license? do I have to buy the safe before the safety check from the police? among other basic firearms licensing questions.

Id also be interested in any places around S. Wales, mainly swansea and cardiff, that offer stalking opportunities, in addition to any land owners who would be interested allowing us (8 so far) to shoot pest on their behalf?

any and all help is greatly appreciated,

Alex

I would suggest reading the Firearms Law Guidance, which is pinned at the top of this section and downloading a FAC and SGC application form which will show you what information you will have to supply.

As far as stalking is concerned, there are many professional stalkers who offer guided stalking for individuals with or without their own rifle. Check out the shooting press or the Stalking Directory (google it).