Classic Cars.

RedRobin

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

La bala.... WOW mate looking at badge on the wing and Revolution Wheels RS1600 or RS2000.

Spill the Beans mate

The RS2000 was my pride and joy. Billstien world cup front struts with competition springs.

Rear competition springs with adjustable Spax shocks.

High ratio steering rack.

Roll cage, Rally seats, 3 point linkage harnesses.

Battery in boot, manual cutout switch on front wing.

Just needed a fire extinguisher for rallying. She probably had a few more bits i havnt remembered lol.

Edited by la bala

Rimfire. Lovely car you have. Great photo too.

A chap at the time that I did my apprenticeship in vehicles body buiding back in the early 80's had a thing about Sunbeam Alpines. Great body lines.

He never had a Tiger , a car id love to sit in :)

Thanks for the PIC

sadly when I was an apprentice grease monkey these classics are the motors a worked on and had to be serviced 3000 /6000/12000 miles plugs points timing dwell, levels oil and filters tappets, tracking etc ,etc dreaded having to replace exhausts on the sports cars they always had to be bent into position to stop them knocking on the body my boss had one of the first MGBGT's got so sick of the engine pinking and running on he used the garages morris minor van to run about in and the lads got the MG to collect parts etc aah the good old days

c10eec06-211d-48ee-aab7-dd2cf73c6e10_zps

Currently in with the body shop for the next few months for a full monty bare metal number.

I get through my cars pretty quick but this is a practical classic and a keeper - it drives like all Mercs of the era (like a nice pair of slippers), it's got ABS, power steering, electric windows, cruise etc (all the mod cons we now take for granted) and it's built like grandpa's tool shed.