"Pattern" and gun movement

buze

Ok perhaps this has been asked before, but since there seems to be a reluctance at re-opening old topics, I'm making a fresh one!

Anyway, I'm an engineer, and I've started shooting fairly recently, so I keep coming up with the obvious -- but being an engineer, I like to figure stuff out, and not necessarily been fed a textbook about it.

My last insight was that one of the reason you 'follow' the target /while/ you shoot is to prevent the gun from stopping -- fair enough, but also that by having the gun moving as you shoot, you will 'spray' the pattern in the direction of the movement by a small fraction, making the pattern more oblong shaped than round, and therefore giving you a /bit/ more chance of splashing that clay.

To me, since not all the shots exit the barrels/wad combo at /exactly/ the same time, there is some side momentum involved, and you must have SOME sort of spread along that axis.

Think, take a fistful of gravel and toss it slightly sideway. Spreads.

My instructors tells me that no, it /doesn't happen/ like that, and the pattern is spread from the gun to the target, but with no axis movement. It's completely counterintuitive to me.

Discuss! :-)

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Your instructor was correct, someone bothered to work out the maths for it once, you would have to have a gun swing speed of several hundred miles per hour to make a minimal difference.

Work out the muzzle velocity of your cartridge and how long the shot column is whilst inside the barrel. From that you can work out how long it takes from when the front of the column leaves the barrel to when the end does.

Once you have done the maths and even with the most aggressive swing the barrel will only move an insignificant negligible amount before the entire shot column has left the barrel. Add to that if you are using plastic wads the cup will not have even opened.