What to do?

Scully

Reading through various threads regarding the widely differing lengths of time it takes various licensing authorities to administer, grant, renew or vary applications I was wondering what the PW collective feel should be done, if indeed they feel we should do anything.

There are instances of times varying from a very rare one week to the more commonly and disgusting six months and in one case there is a PW'er who has been waiting since last June!

It is clear that contacting our shooting organisations is about as effective as contacting licensing authorities, and with an increase in cost of certificates pending but no improvement in services, what are our options?

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm new to this -- but aren't a few MP's also shooters? I'd imagine writing to your MP is mostly the only 'solution', and hope he/she is not anti-gun.

But ultimately, we are a tiny minority; unless we get some very visible people making noise, it's unlikely to get any better...

Scully, I have been thinking along similar lines after reading quite a few things on here and on various Facebook groups and giving some thought to what could/should be done.

Stating the absolute obvious it is desperately difficult to influence change when the game is stacked against you, but if we don't try then nothing will happen at all.

Without making excuses for the shootings organisations I do wonder if they are limited in what they can do because the individuals involved are not making formal complaints to the police directly and just venting off on social media or to the shooting org's. Unless those affected are actually making a formal complaint then I believe it is too easy for the police to file things away in the 'noisy irritation' category instead of 'action required'.