Which 12g press is the best.

Hi Guys,

Ive been reloading for a few months now and i find it highly addictive.

I currently use a Lee Load All 2, I got it because it was cheap and if i didnt get on with reloading then i wouldnt have lost much.

Basically now im looking for a new press and cant decide what i want. I think id like a Mec 9000GN, The progressive feature looks very attractive.

Do any of you guys have experience with this press and do you know of any downsides or bad points to it.

Also what other presses are their, what are you guys using or what do you recomend and why.

Thanks

Styla247

You are going to get a lot of answers mostly bassed on what folk have and use, so Mecs and PWs are going to get a lot of mentions, And i will say Nothing wrong with these machines in all their models and stryles, i have machines by mec and PW and they are great.

Now if by best you mean what do i like using the most or what do i want to own in the reloading press world thats easy.

I enjoy loading the most on my old Reeding round bar press, its super basic super strong not the fastest not the less labour intensive to use, but i can live with that, i just enjoy using it.

And what would i get what do i think is the press i most want and think is the crem de la creme. Again easy i so want a spooler progressive but i would want a 10ga version.

Edited by TONY R

The progressive feature is on more than the 9000 series. The auto rotate on the 9000 is neat, but the price difference is quite substantial. A 650 has the progressive features at a lower cost. But you manually index the carrier. There are a lot of loaders out there that produce a nice shell, it all depends on what you want. I had a 9000 and a old super 600 (650) and decided to stick with the 600 as in my view it produced better carts than the 9000. The PW seems to make a nice shell also. But as has been mentioned there are plenty of other loaders out there! The Pacifics, Bowmans, and a fair few others.