Gun Mount and handling for a side by side

Wingman

Hi all

Trying to use my side by side more these days as my main pigeon gun and so far my kill rate has dropped off badly (1 for about 9 last Sunday). Seeing as I have been shooting OU and autos for the last 25 years I am guessing my technique is wrong. My gun is an English style sxs with straight stock double trigger and splinter foreend. I have searched the net and not really found much info so wondered if anyone can recommend a good site or source of info that may give some pointers. Or better still if anyone can offer any advice that would be really appreciated!

Hi all

Trying to use my side by side more these days as my main pigeon gun and so far my kill rate has dropped off badly (1 for about 9 last Sunday). Seeing as I have been shooting OU and autos for the last 25 years I am guessing my technique is wrong. My gun is an English style sxs with straight stock double trigger and splinter foreend. I have searched the net and not really found much info so wondered if anyone can recommend a good site or source of info that may give some pointers. Or better still if anyone can offer any advice that would be really appreciated!

hello, before the advent of O/Us becoming popular most i knew and my self used S/S and a much favoured book was the art of good shooting by major ruffer as was pigeon shooting by archie coats,

I find i get one better with my old sxs but it kicks like a mule that is part of the reason that i just picked one up that fits a bit better. I find the sxs shoots a lot flatter that my o/u or semi auto so it does take a bit of effort to make sure i mount the guns properly because there is a little difference between them.

One day I will have all my guns fitted properly :)