Shooting on my own land under supervision

darrenj

Hi

Newbie here.

I know that this topic has been discussed here a lot, but I have a slightly different scenario I think.

I have a few acres of land and also some woodland, my friend has a SGC and I have asked him to come and shoot some vermin for me. He has spare guns and said that I can come and shoot under his supervision, but from what I have read this may not be the case in law. although saying that I have not found anything about my situation.

Is there anyone out there that may have come across this before?

I know if I was the SGC holder I can supervise someone on my land, but being the land owner and inviting someone to shoot on my land does not seem to have the same authority in law, is this so and is there any way I can overcome this.

Many thanks.

Teechnically, it's a funny bit of the law.

The relevant part of the law is in the Home Office guidance, 6.18, which references Section 11 (5) of the Firearms Act. Under that legislation, the occupier of the land ONLY can lend a shotgun to another person, and it may be used 'in the occupier's presence'.

However, it has been recommended that 'occupier' should mean any person who has any right to hunt, shoot, take game or fish on the land (this isn't specified in the legislation, and has never been tested in a courtroom, as far as I know)

So you grant him a permission (preferably in writing, dated and signed). He then is, for the terms of the law, an 'occupier', and can take you out with him and lend you a shotgun.

Edited by robbiep