Found Them, then Frustration

pigeon controller

Following last weeks 125 mile search for pigeon and not shooting I was determined to find some this week, Bunny Blaster found them but was not able to shoot this is on a shared permission and I would respect his hard work and leave them to him if they are still feeding on the fields. I drove past them but did not see many. After checking five farms DB phoned me and said he would have to work so I was a free agent. On the sixth farm on which they had sown the rape stubble with mustard this had been knocked down and on inspection it had been seeded . I viewed it and could see crows on a part of the field which is very hard clay and surmised that the seed was on the top. As I viewed it I could see birds behind a row of trees setting to go in. It was a good distance away so I had to walk over to the trees to get a better look, when I arrived about fifty doves lifted of the field with about twenty wood pigeon. As I walked back to the disco the farmer pulled up and opened the gate are you going to shoot the crows? I wanted to say no but he is a good farmer to us so agreed to shoot. Can I drive the field ? you better not as you will compact it !!!!!

It was now 12.00 and I drove to the edge of the field with a three hundred metre walk to the trees, I set up with ten pigeons ( BB had cadged two decoys last week ) two on the magnet the rest on spikes. I built the hide so I could have the pigeon in front and any crows if I shoot any at the back of me. It was a strange wind from the east which was blowing from the hide so all the birds would have to come straight at me.