First deer

Craigyboy21

I recently had the pleasure of spending a days deer stalking with Kent and Sussex Deer Control. Ive previously done an introduction to deer stalking day and last year completed the DSC-1 both of which were very enjoyable. Ive been out on a few highseat stalks but was yet to get the opportunity to try to shoot a deer. The morning started as very dark and wet in a McD's carpark, i met Geoff and Robin from KSDC and there was also another client there that had been out with the guys on a few occasions previously. Id already told the guys id done my DSC-1 when i booked but i reiterated to them that i hadn't shot a deer before so they knew i was a relative novice.

It was decided id go with Geoff first and we drove to some woods and stalked into a doe box, we were there approx 30 mins when we saw our first deer, a herd of perhaps 8-10 animals came running from our right to left, what struck me was their size and speed, they were all fallows, only about 60 yards away and had likely been spooked by Robin and the other client as they were stalking the hill behind us. The beasts were stopped with a shout but as we were in the woods Sod's law dictated they were partially obscured by bushes and trees. I had the perfect view of 3 doe heads visible through the scope but i don't think there is much of a place for headshooting your first deer, more importantly there wasn't a safe backstop, moving my view slightly to the right i could see the broadside of another of the deer but as another was standing behind it, that shot wasn't viable either. Shortly after the deer ran off again. About 30 minutes later we were joined by Robin and the other client and so decided it was breakfast time. We went to a local cafe and Geoff and Robin bought us breakfast (small but nice gesture)