Clay Ground within reasonable drive of London with a beginner

SE30

Hi all

This is my first post.

I have been shooting for over 20 years and have relocated to London (game shooting but love a trip to the clay ground).

I have some friends who have shot before who would like to come with me to learn further.

Does anybody know of a clay ground within a reasonable drive of London (I am in SW London) where I can take a friend and be in control of the traps ourselves at our own pace and be able to shoot as many as we like at one stand for example, Bisley call this pay and play I believe but require all shooters to have a licence.

Look forward to hearing any responses.

Thanks

S

There's a couple in Hampshire if that's not too far. BUT, if others want to use the stand then please let them "play through" as they do in golf. Having said that, you'll probably want to wander around and try different targets anyway.

Bring new people in, the more we have the more grounds will stay open.

Spitfire at Stockbridge will be about an hours run for you (M3/A303/A3057). Really nice guys Peter and Richard Harding. They run the promatic trap system. Make sure you take gun cert (s). Go during a week day when its very quiet and you can stay on one stand for a fair time. There is no food, just a tea/coffee kettle. Plenty pubs local for food.

There are two flush style layouts which requires two people (one shooter, one operator) because the controller boxes are not automatic.

This is a practice ground so in theory you can have as many targets as you like off one stand. Out of courtesy let waiting shooters have their turn and then go back onto the stand.

Edited by B25Modelman

Hi all

This is my first post.

I have been shooting for over 20 years and have relocated to London (game shooting but love a trip to the clay ground).

I have some friends who have shot before who would like to come with me to learn further.