Can anyone help age this gun?

shootthepigeon

The style of the basic marks for view and proof (BV and NP) under a crown came in from 1904 (and lasted to 1954)

I believe that after 1925, the chamber length was also included ...... so my belief is between 1904 and 1925, since your marks show no chamber length.

I am not an expert, but that would be my interpretation.

Hello it looks like Birmingham nitro proof marks for 1925 the give away is the BV/BP LONDON have CP and a hand with a sword for the nitro proof mark also the diamond with the 12 over the C if the other mark is 1 1/8 (32 grams)that's the max load and I would have though its 2 1/2 chambers for if its 2 3/4 the load would be 1 1/4 (36 grams) the 13/1 is choke the 16? and the other mark I cant see I might be the chamber size ? the choking prob full(tight) in the left and 1/4 or cyl in the right hope this helps all the best

Hello it looks like Birmingham nitro proof marks for 1925 the give away is the BV/BP LONDON have CP and a hand with a sword for the nitro proof mark also the diamond with the 12 over the C if the other mark is 1 1/8 (32 grams)that's the max load and I would have though its 2 1/2 chambers for if its 2 3/4 the load would be 1 1/4 (36 grams) the 13/1 is choke the 16? and the other mark I cant see I might be the chamber size ? the choking prob full(tight) in the left and 1/4 or cyl in the right hope this helps all the best

The 13/1 refers to the original bore size at proof! ie .719.

Would this be towards the end of using Damascus?

Steel became available towards the end of the 19th century. Damascus and steel were both used for quite a long period, with steel gradually replacing Damascus. The answer to your question is a qualified 'yes', in that Damascus 'lingered' for some time, but the numbers made in steel greatly increased in the years before WW1, with Damascus taking a smaller market share.

There is a good site at http://www.damascus-barrels.com/index.html