Shot size for sporting clays

Blunderbuss

I've just picked up a slab of Eley First 28g fibre, which I've always got on with, but picked up size 8 shot by mistake. I'm relatively new to clay shooting and have always used 7s or 7.5s before. Any handicap in using 8s on sporting?

I'd have thought they'd be an advantage on close in, or edge on targets due to a denser pattern, but that I'd possibly be handicapping myself at distance due to the more rapid fall off in pellet energy. The ground I shoot at has a good range of targets and I don't think any are too far.

Does anyone else shoot 8s?

Should I keep em or (18 mile round trip) swap them for 7.5s?

I suspect the answer as with choke, is not to worry about it and just shoot!

Cheers guys :lol:

Chard, I know Skeet shooters use 9s, but that's like shooting a cartridge full of those little black poppy seeds you get on posh bread surely! :)

A lot of the birds where I shoot are quite close, so it's the same principle as skeet shooting really. They're not bad on longish range clays either, they chuck a good, dense pattern.

Truth be known, I bet you wouldn't really notice a difference. If you hadn't noticed the 8 printed on them and just used them, you'd probably have thought they were your usual ones. :hmm:

I only tend to use 8's now. This is since I used them down at Shugborough a few months ago and found that they broke even the rangiest stuff down there extremely well. I was a bit wary to start with as I had 1/4 and 3/8 choke in and thought that I might be a bit undergunned, but changed up to 3/8 and 1/2 and it worked a treat! :lol:

I went to Highodge today and on coming home realised that by mistake, in my rushing around this morning I had packed mostly no 9's

I shot 100 clays, 75 clays shot at with no 9's and 25 with some no 8's

Even with the wind today did not seem to make any difference and my score remained about the same as usual, might of lost the odd distant clay but i doubt it.