quail

Can anyone give me more info about quail? In the US they are common for bird training. Lots of gamebird farms sell them. I am thinking to build a quail recall pen this winter and getting some quail in the spring for dog training.

Are they available in the UK and where? I'm looking for adult, flight ready birds, preferably bobwhites. Any idea how much they cost? Are they legal to release and (potentially much later) shoot? What other options would I have?

Thanks

Rick

As far as I'm aware, I'm no expert mind, it would be illegal to release a non-indigenous species into the wild so I would check this out carefully before you get any!

Many are kept in aviaries under the other birds to eat spilled feed as a way of discouraging mice and rats. Some are kept for their eggs, being a delicacy to some but I don't think they are successful breeders in the wild. I will stand to be corrected on this however.

You can buy them in pet shops locally to me and I have kept them myself in the past.

Hope this has helped, even if it wasn't what you wanted to hear, sorry.

GH

greenhunter,

I'm afraid you're right. I did some digging after your post and found the answer burried in some pdf files. In the wildlife act of 1981, part 1, section 14:

(1) Subject to the provisions of this Part, if any person releases or allows to escape into the wild any animal which-

a. is of a kind which is not ordinarily resident in and is not a regular visitor to Great Britan in a wild state, or

b. is included in Part 1 of Schedule 9,

he shall be guilty of an offence.

Then reading into schedule 9 it clearly lists bobwhite quail. I thought that the term 'established species' as listed in schedule 9 meant that they were here and able to be released.

Thanks

Rick

The Quail is a native British species, migrating from Africa every year, rather like Swallows do.

That doesn't however mean that you can shoot them, if you encounter them in the wild.