Dispatching a Pigeon

Stuart049

Hey guys

as i explained in my last topic about roost shooting, i'm still a beginner at shooting so iv lots to learn.

i went roost shooting again yesterday and shot 3 which i'm pretty chuffed about to be honest, iv only been a few times a no one else shot that many :good:

but one of them wasn't killed in the shot, i struggled a bit to wring its neck as iv never done it before and not completely sure of the best way how... i got there eventually but i want to know the best way to do it quickly as i obviously caused the bird a bit of pain in my slow failed attempts at doing it...

So yea i'm looking for the best way to wring a birds neck... i'm not talking about wacking it on a tree because i don't entirely agree with that, or using bird dispatch gadgets because i don't really want to buy one and carry it around everywhere, and if i forget it i'm screwed. i would much rather learn a quick way of doing it myself (i know these dispatching gadget things are probably much more simple but id rather learn this way).

So any tips of tricks, certain techniques would be very helpfull helpful

Thanks

Stuart

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

thanks, iv no idea what a priest is and if i google it i just get holy men :) so someones gonna have to explain haha

im ready to try anything i just wanna know how to do it best as id rather get it done as quick as possible rather than yanking the birds head about for 10 mins whilst its in pain...

dont do it too hard as there heads do come off :good::)

ye i yanked the birds head off when i first started and blood spraved all over the barel of my gun and i couldn't get it off when it dried i learn't the hard way, dont pull too hard.

they can flap about abit when you snap the neck..i find a priest quiker and i think it's fool proof i've seen people spinning pigeons around like a helicopter and it doesn't look good.. :good: