How to clean my 12b barrels?

Marc M

I've read all about the different cleaning heads, bronze, mops, jags etc, but is it better to use wooden poles, or alloy ones, or neither, just buy a bore snake?

What are peoples opinions, I'm new to this so haven't got a clue but definitely want to keep the barrels nice and clean!

Edited by Marc M

I have always used a wooden, three piece, cleaning rod with either a loop, or a split plastic jag, and a phosphor bronze brush, finishing off with oil applied with a wool mop.

I use the split jag, with three sheets straight off the toilet roll, and folded to fit the jag, to clean the residue first. Followed by some bore cleaner and a good rogering with the wire brush. I pay particular attention to the breech and choke areas, where leading can build up. I don`t use plazzy wads, so build up of plastic fouling is not a problem.

After running fresh toilet paper through the bore, until it comes out clean, I use the wool mop to deposit gun oil in the bore, wipe the action and barrels with an oily rag and put the gun away. If, as you say, you want the gun to be really clean a rod will, in my opinion, do a better job than a boresnake. Every week or so I dismantle the gun and clean and oil everything thoroughly, especially so after damp days. If you like to see your action and barrels a bit `wet` with oil, store the gun with barrels down, to obviate oil seeping into the woodwork.

I have always used a wooden, three piece, cleaning rod with either a loop, or a split plastic jag, and a phosphor bronze brush, finishing off with oil applied with a wool mop.

I use the split jag, with three sheets straight off the toilet roll, and folded to fit the jag, to clean the residue first.  Followed by some bore cleaner and a good rogering with the wire brush.  I pay particular attention to the breech and choke areas, where leading can build up.  I don`t use plazzy wads, so build up of plastic fouling is not a problem.