Gardener

hendersons

My work is thinking of employing a gardener to tend a veg plot for us. As I have little knowledge of such things I have a few questions. I know a few of you work in this kind of field (sorry no pun intended) so I thought I would throw it open to the p.w. oracle.

The garden is around 3 acres in size with a couple of polytunnels and quite a lot of open ground. We hope to supply our restaurant with most of the veg we need and perhaps if able to sell a few things to others.

So my questions are:

1) How many gardeners would we need we we're hoping 1 but i'm all ears?

2)would they work on a full or part time basis?

3)would they only be able to produce a decent amount of veg in the warmer months or would they be able to keep it going all year (obviously we would just be expecting seasonal things from them)?

4)What would be the expected annual sallary of a full or part time gardener.

The location of the garden would be between swindon and cirencester, if it helps to know the location

I'm sure I may have a few more questions as I think of a few more things but thanks for now

Nick

A 3 acre veg garden will feed a village :blink:

My 1/4 acre allotment supplied me and my family with loads of fruit and veg, but I had to give it up because I didn't have time to look after it.....so I reckon you will need at least 1 full time gardener, just my own guesstimate, mind :good:

My work is thinking of employing a gardener to tend a veg plot for us. As I have little knowledge of such things I have a few questions. I know a few of you work in this kind of field (sorry no pun intended) so I thought I would throw it open to the p.w. oracle.

The garden is around 3 acres in size with a couple of polytunnels and quite a lot of open ground. We hope to supply our restaurant with most of the veg we need and perhaps if able to sell a few things to others.

So my questions are:

1) How many gardeners would we need we we're hoping 1 but i'm all ears?