decoys over rape

dead-eye-dick

:grumpy: I am new to pigeon shooting and after reading meny web and magazine articals I thought I was ready for a trip to one of the 7 'rape' farms I have permission to shoot over.  On arrival at the first field I saw a group of around 6 pigeons fluttering around in a short patch of rape, I hid myself away and waited, after 1.5hrs without seeing a pigoen i moved to another field.  I found a field with maybe a hundered  birds feeding in 3 large short patches on the other side of the field, I once again set up camp 30 yards away from them in some cover, this time I didn't use decoys (someone said if you put them down wrong is will do more harm than good) much as I scaned the sky I could'nt make out any 'flight-lines', the odd bird flew across very high occasinally.

Should I have used decoys to atract them? or had they gone for good when scared off.

as I couldn't see any flight lines how would i go about setting up my decoys - the odd bird i did see came from behind me.

how meny decoys do i put out - how far apart should they be??   how well hidden should i be??

any info greatly recived - after 4hrs 0 birds is not good. :angry:  :angry:

Welcome to the forum Dead-eye, and welcome to the frustrating world of pigeon shooting.  There's a lot of stuff to take in when starting out, and a lot of info to sort through.  There's a couple of forums on here that discuss decoying over various crops and decoying in general.  There's also a bit about decoying on the website.