blade tech

Now everyone will know I am no expert here, but I foolishly bought one of those and they aint up to much. I think the trick is being 100% straight up and down and not pressing too hard (if you do it takes off a load of metal).

Might be useful for putting something on a totally blunt blade with a rounded off edge but certainly won't get a blade very sharp. I got hold of one of these at the recommendation of bipolar, and I am over the moon with it.

I am slowly learning how to sharpen with just a normal stone and getting somewhere :lol:

You want a bench grinder to sharpen your spades anyway :lol::lol::good:

is this one of the sharpeners with the two crossed stones?

If so it might be slightly like my old mans gerber one, i found with this (and this sounds bloody obvious... but you never know) that you could only put an edge on it if you drew it, if you also pushed it then it would just blunten what you had achived.

I was thinking about getting a decent knife sharpener for the kitchen - I normally use bench grinder but that's in the shed.

I have looked at the triange sharpmaker as recommended by Pin and Bipolar, but it seems a bit too crazy for me - it has an instructional DVD? I am not sure if I have that much time to invest in a knife sharpener.

What's the recommendation for the best sharpener?

I was thinking about getting a decent knife sharpener for the kitchen - I normally use bench grinder but that's in the shed.

I have looked at the triange sharpmaker as recommended by Pin and Bipolar, but it seems a bit too crazy for me - it has an instructional DVD? I am not sure if I have that much time to invest in a knife sharpener.

What's the recommendation for the best sharpener?

The one you mention looks mad, but it couldn't be simpler. It is basically 2 synthetic stones one medium and one fine, the action is the same draw the blade backwards and down. Nothing to it, it just keeps the angle for you.