Curing

Jonty

After otherwayup's posts on his pigs legs I thought I might start a thread on curing as there seems to be a few people interested and I'd like to maybe show that it's not so much of a dark art and that at some level, any one of us could have a go and have some really good results.

I'm no expert by a long shot but if I can help anyone out I'd be more than happy to. It also seem there are a few guys on here who know their stuff so hopefully there could be some really good information going into this.

The easiest and safest way to get into curing is to buy a ready made cure - one where someone has done the footwork for you, that way you can apply the cures safe in the knowledge that you're not going to poison anyone. There are chemicals that are used in curing such as sodium nitrite and sodium nitrate which are useful as they produce an environment in meat that makes it difficult for bugs to breed, they need to be treated with respect - but they're nothing to be scared of as long as they are used in the right quantities - it usually says on the pack what ratio of cure to meat to use. That said, to start with, whlst getting used to the ropes/procedures a pre-mixed cure might be the easiest option.

There are two separate curing techniques - curing meats that will then be cooked such as bacon/gammon etc, and curing meats that will be eaten 'raw' such as air dried ham, salami etc.

Some good suppliers to get people started are:

http://www.weschenfelder.co.uk/home

http://www.sausagemaking.org/

You'll find most things you'd need on either of the two

• Replies 151
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The easiest way to start curing is by making some bacon - it's very easy to do and usually produces great results. All you need is some meat, a fridge, some cure and a plastic bag, so that's probably the best thing to start with.