What to do with the shot pigeons

Steview555

Hello all,

Newbie here and first thread and post, I am sure this has been done to death but I can't find an answer!!!!!

I have obtained permission to shoot a small bit of land near me in Hull. Bought some decoy gear of Ebay, 2 nets, 4 posts, 16 shells and 2 x bouncers, big bag and a chair also got a triple rotary feeder, so all the gear and no idea. :shoot:

I hope to go on my first day on Sunday but..... what do I do with the shot birds (assuming I find some and then hit em)

I haven't had time to see if any local butchers or restaurants would take them and my Mrs wouldn't appreciate a bag full of feathers /dead birds in the house, so how do I dispose of them?

Should I be shooting without means for disposal?

Steve

Edited by Steview555

Eat them, give them to friends, give them to neighbours, sell the rest to game dealer.

Should you shoot without a way to dispose? You can dispose - you can throw them in the hedgerow and let Charlie eat them that night - the debate is, in a world where food is expensive and people are starving, is that a morally correct thing to do?

I don't know the answer, I'll get my popcorn while other tell you the answer, but only you know what feels "right" to you - and remember your farmer/land owner may have a view too.

Eat them, give them to friends, give them to neighbours, sell the rest to game dealer.

Thanks for that guess I will have to find a game dealer somewhere.

I have read that some people freeze them, do you freeze them full or prepare them first? I thought preparing them meant you had to be licenced?

Cheers

Get yourself a second hand chest freezer put them in that till its full then take them to gamedealer.

Cheers, do I just freeze them whole, feathers and all.

Should I being using lead or steel shot?

Sorry for the silly questions but want to do it right if I can B)