243 vs 308 Land Deemed Suitable - Help please!

jonnys

Hi folks

Am after a bit of advice and hopefully some reassurance.

I have passed my deer stalker 1 and just started studying for my level 2. I'm doing all my training at the BASC Kings forest scheme.

I'm not from a shooting background and so have had to work really hard over the past few years since I started shooting to find land and get permission. I've been doing pest control for a farmer land for a couple of years, and he has just given me permission to cull some of the deer that are on his land.

I have gone for a 308 as her has reds on there as does the BASC Kings forest scheme, so want a calire that is capable of humanely dispatching these.

I have just put in for my variation on my FAC and spoke to the police today, alls well and they are going to issue a 308 for use at BASC, during our conversation I thought I just check and see if the farm I have the new stalking land I have secured is ok for a 308, the police advised that it's already been looked at for a 243 and they were fine with that, but they'd need to check again and agree a 308. They didn't say it was a problem, just that they'd need to check it and approve a 308 as it's never been checked for that just 243.

So my question is - if it's ok for a 243, please tell me they'll grant a 308 on the same land, as I've ordered my 308 and pick it up at the wknd. My belief is that it's the shooter who needs to be safe, and if you're unsafe with a 243 or a 308 it doesn't make any difference as both have the same potential to do damage/injury.

Be grateful for you opinions/thoughts and hopefully some reassurance!

Many thanks, Jonny