Glasgow Crash

shalfordninja33

Hello Everyone,

Jsut been reading this article about the Glasgow Helecopter crash

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-25353001#TWEET982901

Does anyone know what this term means;

: "During normal operations yesterday, one of our EC 135 fleet has experienced an indication defect that requires further technical investigation.

Warning Light on the dash coming on?

It does look a bit like the absolute minimum fuel levels are reached before the sensor reacts - hence the increase in minimum fuel levels - perhaps also points to a loss/out of fuel for the Glasgow crash if there is no mechanical problem identified and yet the witnesses to the Clotha crash confirmed the engine appeared to shutdown ? They must have a sound recording ?

I'm no expert but flying on a low fuel level with a possibly faulty indicator would be a possible cause of catastrophic failure, very similar to an engine failure?

I have heard / read that the pilot had 20 mins fuel remaining, which to me would mean they should have been on the ground long before they got that low. It could quite possibly have been a gauging error and If it ran the selected tank dry then yes, he would have had an engine failure!
They must have suspicions if they have grounded the fleet.

Even with engine failure, the pilot should still be able to auto-rotate, an emergency landing procedure, which uses the rotors inertia and the aircrafts airspeed to maintain an amount of lift to control the descent, much like an autogyro. It seems to me like something mechanically catastrophic must have happened for the pilot to lose control of the rotors, thus preventing auto rotation. Even with engine failure.

Auto rotation is constantly practiced during flight training and annual check rides. I doubt that the cause will have been as simple as twin engine failure due to fuel starvation.