Missing so many birds??

yidoharry

Hi, I am very new to the sport and have over the last few months been buying all the gear I need.......that has been the easy part! Please don't all shoot me down in flames here but I want to know how am I going to become a better shot. I am lucky enough to have a permission on a huge amount of land with various crops etc so everything is in place for a great days pigeon shooting but after several trips out there seems to be barely any improvment in my kill rate. Would it help me going to a clay shooting ground and paying for tuition or is it a simple case of keep persisting and trying by myself?? Would reading books or watching any videos be the way to go perhaps? Im always open to any suggestions that anyone wants to throw my way and im willing to put in the hours due to having a job that allows me to have the daytime to myself. Just as a note im using a Franchi raptor semi- auto with a 1/2 choke fitted.....not sure if this has much of a bearing though! Thanks for reading guys and hopefully some of you can point me in the right direction.

Edited by yidoharry

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If I was you, I would definitely go to a clay pigeon ground, with your gun and ask , to start with, a professional coach for a lesson, explain to him, what it's the problem, he should be able to advise you and help you, correcting any mistake that you doing, while aiming or mounting your gun.

It might be a matter of eye dominance or wrong mount of the gun, but only a coach can correct that.

I hope it works out for you..... Don't give up

Mark

All of the above mate, as stated lessons can correct any serious issues you might have and watching videos and reading books can help with other elements of field craft and decoying, it also might be useful to see if an experienced hand close to you would go out with you for a couple of days too.