Quick question

ajsnelling

Hi all

I've read a lot of great tips and since I'm very new to pigeon shooting it's been helping a lot.

At the moment I am shooting on a large field of oil seed rape, this has a great island of trees about 1/3 of the way into it, perfect for setting a hide, I can then see about 2/3 of the whole field.

Pigeons tend to come from behind me over the top and from miles away in front and land right in the far corner of this field, I'd say up to 300 can land if I don't fire a shot off. Here are a couple of things I'd like advice on please:

I only have 12 half shell flocked decoys that I put out 25 yards from me and the trees, the pigeons always fly over these as if they aren't there, do I need more decoys or different ones etc?

The only time I get a shot off if when they all get up and fly back at me, the reason I can't face behind me is that there is a road.

Thanks

Pigeons tend to avoid feeding so near to Trees because of the potential nasty's that can hide within (such as you!) so for a flock to see birds doing so probably sets alarm bells ringing-best you can hope is that the decoys at least attract them your way and you can shoot as they fly close by. If the wind is in your favour (coming from behind you) then you could put the decoys another 25 or so yards out so that they feel more confident and any birds that do come to the pattern then take off should come your way-again you need a good breeze though. You could also try putting sticks with plastic bags tied to them in the area's the birds prefer and lofting a few decoys above your hide so that birds are more likely to come your way when they look for an alternative to their usual spot. Most likely outcome ,however, will be that you spend half your life chasing thousands of birds around thousands of acres of OSR only to come home with a dead semi tame feral pigeon :innocent: .

Edited by bruno22rf