Newbie looking for advice

flyeruk

I'm a complete newbie to pigeon shooting and looking for advice. I was lucky enough to go out with a very experienced pigeon shooter last week and learnt a lot in the few hours I was with him. He showed me what to look for regarding flight lines,setting up the hide and setting out the decoys.

He is lucky enough to be able to shoot 3 or 4 times a week. This is where my question comes in. As probably,a lot of people,i work 5 days a week. I only really have a Saturday free at the moment,so was wondering how I should go about using this time to do my reconnaissance,setting up and hopefully shooting a few.I have a permission over a very large area and the farmer is quite happy for me to do a bit whenever I have the time.

I have been reading all the pigeon threads and feel already I have absorbed a lot of very useful imformation but know its all down to getting out there and having a go myself.

Any help and advice will be very much appreciated.

If your time for recon is limited then you will need to know what your farmer is going to sowing and where on the land.

Once you know where the crops are you can minimise time traveling and head in the direction you would expect pigeon activity. This link is a good guide http://forums.pigeonwatch.co.uk/forums/topic/129148-crop-watch-calendar-where-to-look-for-pigeon-activity/

Make note of any flightlines you see as pigeons will use those lines again throughout the seasons.

Not all the advice you need but a bit that might help!

Good luck.

As Aga man said...keep in touch with the Farmer or his employees to see what goes in and when.. Generally Winter shooting will be over rape or roost, Spring over Drillings, and Summer and Autumn over crops on point of harvest or stubble.