Pheasant shooting

Isaidduck

I have been invited on a pheasant shoot by a farmer but I have never done it before .

I have done a bit of pigeon shooting but I am not very good at it , the only ones I can normally hit are the ones that are standing still .

Are pheasants easy to hit compared to pigeons ? I know they are bigger but they look like they fly faster too .

What cartridges will I need for pheasants ?

Listen to the rules for the day and enjoy your day. No low/dangerous shooting e.g. into the wood side or game cover. Don't steal your neighbours birds. In my view pheasants are a lot easier than a weaving twisting woodpigeon coming into decoys or a roost. Your standard pigeon cartridge will be fine. People get very anal about what will kill this and what will kill that, the important bit is having the bird in the pattern :yes::good:

That means there'll be two teams and you will alternate between beating and shooting. Not being rude you do sound inexperienced and there is too much to tell you to be able to help on the forum. Safety is the main concern and as Kennett said that can go out the window if you become over excited. I took a relatively inexperienced guy last year as my guest . He told be he had shot a fair few days on pheasants but I decided I would give up my gun and stand with him and I was pleased I did. I told him to shoot only into the sky as a background but he attempted to shoot a very low partridge and I stopped him. He said but I would be shooting into the sky, which was true , but it wasn't 6 foot high and the beaters could have popped up at any time. For your own sake and for those of your fellow guns tell the farmer of your experience and ask if someone could accompany you.

We all have to start somewhere , I am not a novice at shooting been doing it years just not very good on birds , on clays I get at least 25% as a rule .