equity release

big bad lindz

A few questions regarding equity release.

has anyone on PW done it

Is it a worth while option

what are the up & downs

what`s the average cost

I have looked at some of the options currently advertised on the net but without making a commitment for an interview with some financial `shark` I am trying find out as much as I can before doing so.

I am 60 next year and I have been working in the North Sea for the last 30 years and I now feel it is time to hang up the boots. I may not stop working and look for something nearer home just for some beer money etc, but not sure if I would have sufficient savings & pensions to keep me going.

The house is paid off and we have no young family and don't intend to leave any inheritance to anyone but we would like to be comfortably off into our latter years.

So if and when we do go for advice are there any pertinent questions that we should be asking

cheers,

BBL

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

In the circumstances you describe and assuming you have no dependant children (or anyone else, apart from a wife) living with you , then downsizing will probably be the most financially efficient option.

I looked at equity release for my SIL about 4 years ago and consulted Financial Advisers who were friends, the final consensus was that the older you are the better it is.

"Older" was pitched at over 70.

Even the "best" schemes mean you give up quite a bit of equity for a small return and the younger you are the more you give up and the smaller the return.

Those offering these schemes base returns on the calculation of how much longer you are going to live.

My comments are only based on my experience and the advice we were given by totally independant people.

No doubt others have had better experiences and they may chip in.